Home | Products | Applications | About KIMO | Contact | Press | Imprint & Data protection German  English


Soft start and
     soft stop
Braking units
Soft start, soft stop
     and braking units
Voltage controllers
Braking choppers
Frequency
     inverters
DC Converters
Please note: Depending on the repetition of the search word the search can take a few seconds!
Path: Home / Applications / Electronic braking /

State-of-the-art electronic devices for the wear-free braking of three-phase induction motors

Dr. John P. Gibson,
Dr. Frank O. Hake

Electronic braking devices allow three-phase induction motors to be braked wearfree and offer a rugged alternative to mechanical brakes, especially for high moments of inertia- or high switching frequencies. Application examples from the field will describe state-of-the-art technology as well as new developments in this area.

1. Why electronic braking?

Three-phase induction motors are the most commonly used of all electric motors. Since frequency inverters have been available at a favorable price, three-phase motors are also being increasingly used for variable-speed applications instead of DC drives.Many machines and pieces of equipment have relatively high moments of inertia. When the machine or piece of equipment is powered-down, it continues to run for a correspondingly long time. Several examples from practice are listed in the table. In these examples, if the machine or piece of equipment is allowed to run-down in an uncontrolled fashion, this could represent potential danger for man or machine. For especially hazardous machinery, for instance, meat saws and woodworking machines, the appropriate regulatory bodies specify the maximum permissible braking times.The mechanical friction brake is the classic brake that is integrated in the motor in the form of a braking motor. For basic applications, and especially for applications with low braking energy, solutions such as these are extremely cost-effective and safe. However, as soon as the braking energy and the braking frequency exceed a certain limit, other solutions must be applied. The use of the existing drive motor as electrical brake has also widely established itself for such difficult applications. The possibilities of using the existing drive motor to brake are discussed in more detail in the following text.

 

 

 

 

 

Fig. 1: Comparison of various techniques for DC current braking



Fig. 2: Basic circuits to implement electronic braking

KM: Motor contactor, KB: Brake contactor, F: Input enable

 

Table: Overview of typical applications of electronic braking devices

 

 

 

 

* Accident prevention regulations of the responsible regulatory body

Machine type

Danger

Accident prevention measures*

Productivity /

Typical starting times

 

 

 

function

without brake

with brake

Meat saws for abattoirs

Human / Injury

In preparation

 

8 s

1 s

Circulating fans in steam furnaces/ovens

Human / Injury (Burn)

In preparation

 

3 s

0,6 s

Centrifuges

 

 

Important

30 min

4 min

Crane traversing drives

 

 

Necessary

20 s

5 s

Saws and milling tools in the woodworking industry

 

Braking ≦ 10 s

 

20 s

2-6 s

Roller operations in the steel industry

 

 

Necessary

10 s

2 s

2. Behavior of three-phase induction motors when braking with DC current

The behavior of a three-phase induction motor when braking with DC current is well documented e.g. [1],[2]. The three stator winding phases can be connected-up in many different configurations. When it comes to minimizing the amount of switching devices and wiring, then the circuit shown in Figs. 1a and 1b, with two phases connected in series, is almost exclusively used.The braking torque which can be achieved as a function of the speed results - in principle - in the usual speed/torque characteristic of an induction motor mirrored along the vertical straight lines through half the synchronous speed. The characteristic depends very heavily on the rotor design. At zero speed, theoretically, no braking torque is generated. In practice, there is a low braking torque due to remanence of the rotor core. For all of the braking circuits which inject a DC current into the rotor, the braking energy in the motor rotor is dissipated in the form of heat. If the braking effect of the load can be neglected, the energy loss when braking is theoretically the same as the energy loss when the motor starts. The motor should be appropriately dimensioned.

3. Electronic braking circuits with DC current injection

3.1 Conventional single-pulse rectifier circuits
The simplest electronic braking circuit is the single-pulse rectifier circuit using a thyristor/diode combination together with an adjustable phase angle control (refer to Fig. 2a). A braking contactor is used to disconnect the braking circuit during normal motoring operation. When braking, a protection time of between 0.3...1.5 s is required depending on the motor size. A selectable timer stage limits the duration of the braking current to the predicted maximum braking time. Braking devices of this type are extremely compact – braking devices with extremely compact dimensions with the same width as a small contactor are available for motors up to 7.5 kW. These devices are simply snapped onto 35 mm DIN rails (refer to Fig. 6a).If the circuit illustrated in Fig. 2a (two phases connected in series) is used, this has the additional advantage that it is possible to fully electronically and automatically sense when the motor is at a standstill by monitoring the voltage in the third phase which does not have any connected device. As soon as the drive motor comes to a standstill, the braking current is electronically interrupted and, after the braking current has decayed, the braking contactor can be opened.Another development of the known single-pulse braking circuit is to use two thyristors instead of the thyristor/diode combination (refer to Fig. 2b). Operation without braking contactor is possible because the braking circuit is functionally disabled if the thyristors are not triggered. This version can be used to implement electronic braking for a minimum cost and also minimum space requirement in the control cabinet.The single-pulse braking circuits, described up until now, represent a very cost-effective solution, especially for lower power ratings. However, the current characteristic deviates significantly from pure DC current. This results in the following secondary effects:

  • Noise is generated, caused by oscillating torques, especially at f = 50 Hz
  • The RMS current value for the same braking effect is approximately 30% higher than for pure DC current. This means that the heat loss in the stator winding is approximately 70 % higher
  • The braking torque at high speed is significantly lower than for pure DC current (refer to the torque characteristics in Fig. 1). The reason for this is the current harmonics generated by the phase angle control which generate undesirable motor torques, especially at high speeds.

3.2 Fully-controlled two-pulse braking circuits
These disadvantages can be essentially resolved by using a fully-controlled, two-pulse rectifier circuit (refer to Fig. 1c). For the same average braking current, the oscillating torques and the RMS value of the braking current are significantly lower for this circuit configuration. A braking device is essentially dimensioned according to the required braking current. Whereby, for the same braking current, the braking effect of a device with a two-pulse rectifier is approximately 10 % higher than a device with single-pulse rectification. A differentiation is made between:
  • Applications, which require fast braking with the highest possible braking current. Generally, a braking current of approx. 2 x rated current is used as a basis when dimensioning the device whereby the braking time at this braking current is limited to 12 s.
  • Applications, which require a long braking period (e.g. centrifuges) or even continuous braking (e.g. roller operations). In this case, the continuous braking current is specified as basis to dimension the device. At high powers, it makes sense to force-ventilate the braking device using a fan.
  • Applications with multiple braking operations with miscellaneous drives.
A further development is to use current limiting which simplifies commissioning. The firing angle of the phase control is set at the device – i.e. the braking voltage is set. The actual braking current is obtained corresponding to the resistance in the braking circuit. However, this resistance depends very heavily on the size and dimensioning of the motor as well as also on the cabling. There is significant danger that an excessively high braking current could damage the braking device. Most customers do not have suitable measuring instruments to measure the braking current (DC current measurement).The maximum braking current of the device is automatically limited and commissioning significantly simplified using an integrated current limiting function. Further, a small braking device for braking larger motors with reduced braking torque can be used without any associated risk.

3.3 Combination of DC current brake with electronic soft starter

Devices which are used to softly and electronically start three-phase motors have advantages regarding the starting characteristic which can be selected and the reduced starting current. In recent years, several manufacturers have been offering devices which can start and brake three-phase motors. Most of these devices use an external braking contactor to initiate braking, whereby a brake switch-in delay of 0.3...1.5 s is provided depending on the motor size. After braking has been selected, these devices remain in the braking mode until the motor has reached a standstill. The braking contactor can only be safely opened after the current has decayed.A fully electronic technique (i.e. without braking contactor) is explained in the following text. This is used to implement electronic starting and braking. The basic structure of the associated circuit is shown in Fig. 2d. The three double arrangements of thyristor diodes represent the basic circuit of an electronic soft starting device. A part of this circuit, together with the two free-wheeling thyristors, located between the motor phases, forms a single-pulse direction-dependent braking circuit.

 

         

Fig. 3: Crane traversing drive as an example for the implementation of a drive control with combination of electronic brake and soft starting

 

 

Fig. 4: Inclined elevator for loading silos as an implementation example of a closed-loop drive control with combination of electronic brake and soft starter

 

Fig. 5: Principle circuit diagramm of a frequenzy inverter with supplementary braking chopper

 

Using a control, synchronized with the line supply, it is possible to toggle between motoring and braking as many times as required. Typical changeover times for a 75 kW motor are:

  • Changing-over from motoring (three-phase) to braking (DC current): 30...100 ms depending on the speed
  • Changing-over from braking (DC current) to motoring (three-phase), 20 ms including commutating over the braking current. This combination of motoring and braking is the basis of a rugged drive for two-quadrant operation. A typical application example includes traversing drives for gantry cranes (refer to Fig. 3). The following operating states can be set as a required and without any delay for the traversing drive depending on the position of the master switch:
    • Motoring with a selectable drive torque.
    • Continuing motion with the drive in a nocurrent condition, i.e. the crane gantry continues to move as a result of its kinetic energy.
    • Electronic braking which can be set.
    • Counter-movement with automatic standstill identification to initiate movement in the opposite direction.

The circuit shown in Fig. 2d is admirably suited as basis of a drive with closed-loop speed control for starting, braking and positioning heavy machines and conveyor equipment independent of the load. The characteristic data of a system, equipped with this drive concept, is shown in Fig. 4. A typical device with combined braking and motoring functionality is illustrated in Fig. 6c.

4. Braking variable-speed drives fed from frequency inverters

Here we will only discuss braking when using AC frequency inverters with a DC link – so-called U inverters. When braking, energy is fedback into the DC link. This causes the DC link voltage to increase. Theoretically, it would be desirable to regenerate this energy into the line supply using a DC/AC converter. However, in practice, the equipment involved is far too expensive. The braking energy in the DC link must be dissipated using a braking chopper (Fig. 5). If a braking chopper is not used, or if the braking power of the braking chopper is not adequate, when the drive brakes, the voltage increases until the frequency inverter shutdown limit is reached. This results in operational faults.Relatively frequently, when engineering a drive, the braking chopper is incorrectly dimensioned. Typical examples include:

  • High power fan drives which have a high moment of inertia.
  • Hoisting drives, which must operate for a relatively long time when lowering a load.

KIMO has developed a series of electronic braking choppers which can be especially used to subsequently increase the braking power of a frequency inverter. MOSFET and IGBT technology is used to switch the fixed braking resistor, which results in a simple and rugged design. Up until now, braking choppers have been implemented with a peak power of up to 1700 kW (refer to Fig. 6d).

5. Summary

Several wear-free electronic braking devices have been described for applications in the power range up to 200 kW. In so doing, the emphasis was placed on having a cost-effective design for rugged industrial use. The essential advantages of the braking devices described are
  • for low power drives: Space saving in the cabinet using a new type of operation without braking contactor,

  • for high power drives: Improved braking torque (especially at high speed) by using a fully controlled circuit,

  • for drives with U frequency inverters: The braking torque is subsequently increased by using a supplementary braking chopper.

a. Single-phase brake unit with dc supply, PM = 5 kW

 

c. Soft start with integrated injection brake for PM = 15 kW

 

 

b. Two-phase brake unit with dc supply, PM = 45 kW

d. Braking chopper for Frequency Inverter drives with PM = 75 kW

The regenerative feedback of the braking energy into the supply is an efficient and energy saving alternative. This can be solved by using an additional frequency inverter in so-called active-front-end solutions or with fully regenerative frequency inverters as implemented by KIMO with the TRANSOMIK U2 series. These frequency inverters with full power regeneration are compatible with the standard TRANSOMIK U1 range, which is available up to 15 kW.

Literature
[1] Sauer, H-G, König D, Goeke K-D: Bremsen von Drehstrommotoren mit Gleichstrom. antriebstechnik 31 (1992) Nr.6
[2] Schemanske, R: Electronic Motor Braking. IEEE Trans IA, Vol. IA-9, No. 5, Sept/Oct 1983


Back to "Applications"


KIMO Industrial Electronics GmbH
Am Weichselgarten 19, 91058 Erlangen, Germany
Tel.:+49 9131-6069-0  Fax.:+49 9131-6069-35
© 2003- 2018 KIMO Industrial Electronics GmbH, www.kimo.de


LEKTROMIK DS1
New Kid in Town:

The new LEKTROMIK DS1 is forthcoming - a combined soft-start and braking device!
Microprocessor controlled.
Fully controlled - ideal for IE3 motors.
Grid-compatible.
High braking torque.
Integrated standstill detection.
Compact design.
Up to 15 kW rated motor power.
Suitable e.g. for woodworking machines.

Available approx. 4th quarter of 2018.

read more ...
(only german yet)

MINT - Promoting Young Talents
Also in 2018 KIMO has supported a visit of pupils from the Kaiser-Heinrich-High School in Bamberg - for the 10th time now!. The students have participated in a guided tour through the exhibition, organized by the my-eFuture-initiative, and have experienced hands-on technology. Our special thanks goes to the enablers ZVEI and  Phoenix Contact Deutschland GmbH with their tour-scouts!

read more...

Home | Produkte | Anwendungen | Über KIMO | Kontakt | Presse | Impressum Deutsch  Englisch


Sanftanlauf- und
     Sanftauslaufgeräte
Bremsgeräte
Sanftanlauf- und
     Bremsgeräte
Spannungssteller
Brems-Chopper
Frequenzumrichter
Gleichstrom
     Regelgeräte
Achtung, die Suche kann je nach Vorkommen des gesuchten Wortes mehrere Sekunden dauern!
Pfad: Home / Anwendungen / Elektronisches Bremsen /

Elektronische Bremsgeräte für
Drehstrom-Asynchronmotoren

Dr. John P. Gibson,
Dr. Frank O. Hake

Elektronische Bremsgeräte ermöglichen das verschleißfreie Bremsen von Drehstrom-Asynchronmotoren und bieten eine robuste Alternative zu mechanischen Bremsen, insbesondere bei hohem Trägheitsmoment oder großen Schalthäufigkeiten. Die Funktion wird anhand von praxisbezogenen Anwendungsbeispielen beschrieben.

1. Warum elektronisches Bremsen?

Drehstrom-Asynchronmotoren sind als elektrische Antriebsmotoren am meisten verbreitet. Seit der Verfügbarkeit preiswerter Frequenzumrichter werden Drehstrommotoren auch zunehmend für Anwendungen mit Drehzahlverstellung anstelle der Gleichstromtechnik eingesetzt. Viele Maschinen und Apparate sind mit einer relativ hohen Trägheitsmasse behaftet. Beim Ausschalten läuft die Maschine entsprechend lange nach. In der Tabelle sind einige Beispiele aus der Praxis aufgeführt. Bei diesen Beispielen ist das unkontrollierte Nachlaufen der Maschine potentiell gefährlich für Mensch oder Maschine. Bei besonders gefährlichen Maschinen, z.B. Fleischsägen und Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen, schreiben die Berufsgenossenschaften Mindestanforderungen an die maximal zulässige Bremszeit vor. Die klassische Bremse ist die mechanische Reibbremse, die meist in Form eines Bremsmotors im Motor integriert wird. Für einfache Anwendungen, vor allem bei Anwendungen mit geringer Bremsenergie, sind solche Lösungen sehr wirtschaftlich und sicher. Sobald Bremsenergie und Bremshäufigkeit eine bestimmte Größe überschreiten, müssen andere Lösungen herangezogen werden. Die Verwendung des vorhandenen Antriebsmotors als elektrische Bremse hat sich für solche schwierigen Anwendungen weit verbreitet. In folgenden wird auf Möglichkeiten des Bremsens mit dem vorhandenen Antriebsmotor näher eingegangen.

 

 

 

 

 

Abb. 1: Vergleich verschiedener Verfahren für Bremsen mit Gleichstrom



Abb. 2: Grundschaltungen für die Realisierung von elektronischen Bremsen

KM: Motorschütz, KB: Bremsschütz, F: Freigabeeingang

 

Tabelle: Übersicht über typische Anwendungen von elektronischen Bremsgeräten

 

 

 

 

*Unfallverhütungsvorschriften der verantwortlichen Berufsgenossenschaften

Maschinenart

Gefahr

UVV*

Produktivität /

Typische Auslaufzeiten

 

 

 

Funktion

ohne Bremse

mit Bremse

Fleischsägen für Schlachthöfe

Mensch / Verletzung

In Vorbereitung

 

8 s

1 s

Umwälzlüfter in Dampföfen

Mensch / Verbrennung

In Vorbereitung

 

3 s

0,6 s

Zentrifugen

 

 

wichtig

30 min

4 min

Kranfahr-antriebe

 

 

notwendig

20 s

5 s

Sägen und Fräsen in der Holzindustrie

 

Bremsen ≦ 10 s

 

20 s

2-6 s

Rollengänge in der Stahl-Industrie

 

 

notwendig

10 s

2 s

2. Verhalten von Drehstrom-Asynchronmotoren beim Bremsen mit Gleichstrom

Das Verhalten eines Drehstrom-Asynchronmotors beim Bremsen mit Gleichstrom ist gut dokumentiert z.B.[1],[2]. Die drei Phasen der Statorwicklung lassen sich in vielen Varianten verschalten. In Hinblick auf die Minimierung des Aufwandes an Schaltgeräten und Verdrahtung wird die Schaltung entsprechend Bild 1a und 1b mit der Reihenschaltung zweier Phasen fast ausschließlich eingesetzt. Das erreichbare Bremsmoment als Funktion der Drehzahl ergibt im Prinzip die bekannte Drehmoment/Drehzahl- Kurve eines Asynchronmotors, gespiegelt an der senkrechten Geraden durch die halbe Synchrondrehzahl. Der Kurvenverlauf hängt sehr von der Gestaltung des Läufers ab. Theoretisch ist kein Bremsmoment bei Drehzahl Null vorhanden. In der Praxis steht ein kleines Bremsmoment auf Grund der Remanenz der Blechpakete des Läufers zur Verfügung. Bei allen Bremsschaltungen basierend auf Gleichstrom-Einspeisung im Läufer wird die Bremsenergie im Läufer des Motors in Form von Wärme abgesetzt. Bei vernachlässigbarer Bremswirkung der Last ist die Verlustenergie beim Bremsen theoretisch identisch der Verlustenergie beim Anlaufen des Motors. Gegebenenfalls ist der Motor entsprechend auszulegen.

3. Elektronische Bremsschaltungen mit Gleichstromeinspeisung

3.1 Einpulsige Gleichrichterschaltungen
Die einfachste elektronische Bremsschaltung ist die einpulsige Gleichrichterschaltung bei Verwendung einer Thyristor/Dioden-Kombination zusammen mit einer einstellbaren Phasenanschnittsteuerung (siehe Bild 2a). Ein Bremsschütz dient zur Abtrennung der Bremsschaltung während des normalen motorischen Betriebes. Beim Einsatz des Bremsbetriebes ist eine Schutzzeit von 0,3...1,5 s je nach Motorgröße notwendig. Eine einstellbare Zeitstufe begrenzt die Dauer des Bremsstromes auf die voraussichtliche maximale Bremszeit. Bremsgeräte dieser Art sind sehr kompakt, z.B. stehen für Motoren bis 7,5 kW sehr kompakte Bremsgeräte in Kleinschützbreite für Befestigung auf 35 mm DIN-Schienen zur Verfügung (siehe Bild 6a). Die Verwendung der Schaltung in Bild 2a (Reihenschaltung zweier Phasen) hat den weiteren Vorteil, dass eine vollelektronische automatische Stillstandserfassung durch Überwachen der Spannung in der dritten unbeschalteten Phase möglich ist. Sobald der Antriebsmotor steht, wird der Bremsstrom elektronisch abgeschaltet und nach Abklingen des Bremsstromes wird das Bremsschütz zum Öffnen freigegeben. Eine weitere Entwicklung der bekannten einpulsigen Bremsschaltung stellt die Verwendung von zwei Thyristoren anstelle der Thyristor/Diode-Kombination dar (siehe Bild 2b). Da die Bremsschaltung funktionell still liegt, wenn die Thyristoren nicht gezündet werden, ist der Betrieb ohne Bremsschütz möglich. Daher kann bei dieser Vari-ante elektronisches Bremsen mit minimalem Aufwand und Platzbedarf im Steuerschrank realisiert werden.Die bisher beschriebenen einpulsigen Bremsschaltungen stellen eine sehr wirtschaftliche Lösung, insbesondere bei kleiner Leistung, dar. Der zeitliche Stromverlauf weicht aber erheblich vom reinen Gleichstrom ab. Folgende Nebeneffekte sind zu beachten:

  • Geräuschentwicklung, verursacht durch Pendelmomente vor allem mit f = 50 Hz
  • Der Effektivwert des Stromes für die gleiche Bremswirkung ist ca. 30% höher als bei reinem Gleichstrom. Die Wärmeverluste in der Statorwicklung sind damit um ca. 70 % höher
  • Das Bremsmoment bei hoher Drehzahl ist nennenswert geringer als bei reinem Gleichstrom (siehe Momentenkurven in Bild 1). Die Ursache liegt in den von der Phasenanschnittsteuerung erzeugten Stromoberschwingungen, die ungewollte motorische Momente vor allem bei hoher Drehzahl erzeugen.

3.2 Vollgesteuerte zweipulsige Bremsschaltungen
Diese Nachteile lassen sich durch Einsatz einer vollgesteuerten zweipulsigen Gleichrichterschaltung weitgehend beseitigen (siehe Bild 1c). Für den gleichen Mittelwert des Bremsstromes sind bei dieser Schaltung die Pendelmomente und der Effektivwert des Bremsstromes erheblich kleiner. Die Auswahl der Größe eines Bremsgerätes richtet sich in erster Linie nach dem erforderlichen Bremsstrom, wobei bei gleichem Bremsstrom die Bremswirkung eines Gerätes mit einem zweipulsigen Gleichrichter in der Praxis ca. 10 % höher als die eines Gerätes mit einpulsigen Gleichrichtung ist. Es wird unterschieden zwischen:

  • Anwendungen, die ein kurzes Bremsen mit einem möglichst hohen Bremsstrom fordern. Hier wird als Auslegungsgrundlage üblicherweise ein Bremsstrom von ca. 2 x Nennstrom herangezogen, wobei die Bremszeit bei diesem Bremsstrom auf 12 s begrenzt ist.
  • Anwendungen, die ein langes Bremsen (z.B. Zentrifugen) oder sogar Dauerbremsen (z.B. Rollengänge) fordern. Hier wird als Auslegungsgrundlage der Dauerbremsstrom spezifiziert. Bei hohen Leistungen ist Zwangsbelüftung des Bremsgerätes mit einem Lüfter sinnvoll.
  • Anwendungen mit Mehrfachbrems-vorgängen mit verschiedenen Antrieben.
Eine Weiterentwicklung ist der Einsatz einer Strombegrenzung zur Vereinfachung der Inbetriebnahme. Am Gerät wird der Steuerwinkel der Phasenanschnittsteuerung d.h. die Bremsspannung eingestellt. Der tatsächliche Bremsstrom stellt sich dann entsprechend dem Widerstand im Bremskreis ein. Dieser Widerstand hängt aber sehr sowohl von der Größe und Auslegung des Motors als auch von der Verkabelung ab. Die Gefahr, dass ein zu hoher Bremsstrom das Bremsgerät beschädigt, ist groß. Geeignete Messgeräte für die Messung des Bremsstroms (Gleichstrommessung) sind bei den meisten Kunden aber nicht vorhanden. Mit einer integrierten Strombegrenzung wird der maximale Bremsstrom des Gerätes automatisch begrenzt, die Inbetriebnahme wesentlich vereinfacht. Darüber hinaus kann ein kleines Bremsgerät für das Bremsen größerer Motoren mit vermindertem Bremsmoment ohne Risiko eingesetzt werden.

3.3 Kombination von Gleichstrombremse mit elektronischem Sanftanlauf

Geräte für den sanften elektronischen Anlauf von Drehstrommotoren bringen Vorteile hinsichtlich des einstellbaren Anlaufverhaltens und des reduzierten Anlaufstromes. In der Praxis finden sich Geräte für kombiniertes Anlaufen und Bremsen von Drehstrommotoren. Die meisten dieser Geräte verwenden ein externes Bremsschütz für das Auslösen des Bremsbetriebes, wobei eine Bremseinschaltverzögerung von 0,3...1,5 s je nach Motorgröße vorgesehen ist. Nach Anwählen des Bremsbetriebes bleiben diese Geräte im Bremsbetrieb bis der Stillstand erreicht wird. Erst nach Abklingen des Stromes kann das Bremsschütz sicher geöffnet werden. Im folgenden wird ein vollelektronisches Verfahren (d.h. ohne Bremsschütz) für die Realisierung von elektronischem Anlaufen und Bremsen erläutert. Bild 2d zeigt die Grundstruktur der zugehörigen Schaltung. Die drei Doppelanordnungen von Thyristor-Dioden stellen die Grund- schaltung eines elektronischen Sanftanlaufgerätes dar. Ein Teil dieser Schaltung bildet zusammen mit den zwei zwischen den Motorphasen befindlichen Freilauf-Thyristoren eine einpulsige richtungsabhängige Bremsschaltung.

 

         

Abb. 3: Kranfahrantrieb als Realisierungsbeispiel einer Antriebssteuerung mit Kombination von elektronischer Bremse und Sanftanlauf

 

 

Abb. 4: Schrägaufzug für Silobeladung als Realiserungsbeispiel einer Antriebsregelung mit Kombination von elektronischer Bremse und Sanftanlauf

 

Abb. 5: Prinzipschaltbild eines Frequenzumrichters mit Zusatzbrems-Chopper

 

Mit Hilfe einer netzsynchronisierten Steuerung kann beliebig oft zwischen Treiben und Bremsen umgeschaltet werden. Typische Umschaltzeiten bei einem 75 kW Motor sind:

  • Umschalten von Treiben (Drehstrom) auf Bremsen (Gleichstrom): 30...100 ms je nach Drehzahl.
  • Umschalten von Bremsen (Gleichstrom) auf Treiben (Drehstrom), 20 ms einschließlich Abkommutieren des Bremsstroms. Diese Kombination von Treiben und Bremsen ist die Basis eines robusten Antriebes für den Betrieb in zwei Quadranten. Ein typisches Anwendungsbeispiel sind Fahrantriebe für Brückenkrane (siehe Bild 3). Folgende Betriebszustände lassen sich bei dem Fahrantrieb je nach Position des Meisterschalters beliebig und verzögerungsfrei einstellen:
    • Treiben mit einstellbarem Anlaufmoment.
    • Weiterfahrt mit stromlosem Antrieb, d.h. die Kranbrücke fährt auf Grund ihrer kinetischen Energie weiter.
    • Elektronisches, einstellbares Bremsen.
    • Kontern mit automatischer Stillstandserkennung zum Einleiten der Gegenfahrt.

Die Schaltung nach Bild 2d ist auch als Basis eines Antriebes mit Drehzahlregelung für lastunabhängiges Anfahren, Bremsen und Positionieren schwerer Maschinen und Fördereinrichtungen sehr gut geeignet. Bild 4 zeigt die Kenndaten einer mit diesem Antriebskonzept ausgeführten Anlage. Ein typisches Gerät mit Kombination Bremsen und Treiben ist in Bild 6c abgebildet.

4. Bremsen drehzahlveränderlicher, von Frequenzumrichtern gespeister Antriebe.

Diese Betrachtung beschränkt sich auf das Bremsen bei Verwendung von Frequenzumrichtern mit einem Gleichspannungszwischenkreis, so genannten U-Umrichtern. Beim Bremsen wird Energie in den Zwischenkreis zurückgespeist mit dem Ergebnis, dass die Zwischenkreisspannung steigt. Prinzipiell kann diese überschüssige Energie im Zwischenkreis mit Hilfe eines Bremschoppers (Bild 5) vernichtet werden. Wird diese Energie nicht im ausreichendem Maße abgeführt, steigt die Spannung im Bremsfall, bis die Abschaltgrenze des Umrichters erreicht ist. Betriebsstörungen sind das Resultat. Es kommt relativ oft vor, dass bei der Projektierung eines Antriebs der Bremschopper falsch ausgelegt wird. Typische Beispiele sind:

  • Lüfterantriebe großer Leistung, die ein hohes Trägheitsmoment aufweisen.
  • Hubantriebe, die über eine relativ lange Zeit im Senkbetrieb fahren müssen.

Als Abhilfe, vor allem für die nachträgliche Erhöhung der Bremsleistung eines Frequenzumrichters, hat KIMO eine Baureihe von elektronischen Bremschoppern entwickelt. Die Verwendung von MOSFET- und IGBT- Technik für das Schalten des festen Bremswiderstandes (interner oder externer Bremswiderstände) erlaubt eine einfache und robuste Realisierung. Bisher wurden Bremschopper bis zu 1.700 kW Leistung ausgeführt (siehe Bild 6d).

5. Zusammenfassung

Mehrere elektronische, verschleißfreie Bremseinrichtungen wurden beschrieben. Dabei wurde der Schwerpunkt auf die wirtschaftliche Ausführung für robusten Industrieeinsatz gelegt. Die wesentlichen Vorteile der beschriebenen Bremsgeräte sind
  • bei Antrieben geringer Leistung: Platzersparnis im Schaltschrank durch Betrieb ohne Bremsschütz,

  • bei Antrieben hoher Leistung: Verbesserung des Bremsmoments (insbesondere bei hoher Drehzahl) durch Verwendung einer vollgesteuerten Schaltung,

  • bei Antrieben mit U-Umrichter: nachträgliche Erhöhung des Bremsmoments durch Einsatz eines Zusatz-Brems-Choppers.

a. Einphasiges Bremsgerät mit Gleichstromeinspeisung, PM = 5 kW

 

c. Kombiniertes Gleichstrom- und Anlaufgerät für PM = 15 kW

 

 

b. Zweiphasiges Bremsgerät mit Gleichstromeinspeisung, PM = 45 kW

d. Bremschopper für Frequenzumrichter -Antrieb mit PM = 75 kW

Eine effiziente und energiesparende Alternative bietet die Rückspeisung der Bremsenergie in das Netz. Dies geschieht mit Hilfe eines zusätzlichen Umrichters in so genannten Active-Front-End-Lösungen oder mittels vollrückspeisefähiger Umrichter, wie von KIMO mit dem TRANSOMIK U2 realisiert. Letztere sind einbaukompatibel mit Ihren Kollegen der normalen Umrichterreihe TRANSOMIK U1 bis 15 kW.

Literaturhinweise
[1] Sauer, H-G, König D, Goeke K-D: Bremsen von Drehstrommotoren mit Gleichstrom. antriebstechnik 31 (1992) Nr.6
[2] Schemanske, R: Electronic Motor Braking. IEEE Trans IA, Vol. IA-9, No. 5, Sept/Oct 1983


Zurück zu "Anwendungen"


KIMO Industrial Electronics GmbH
Am Weichselgarten 19, D-91058 Erlangen, Deutschland
Tel.:+49 9131-6069-0  Fax.:+49 9131-6069-35
© 2003- 2018 KIMO Industrial Electronics GmbH, www.kimo.de


MINT-Nachwuchsförderung
KIMO sponsort auch 2018 den Besuch einer Schülergruppe des Kaiser-Heinrich-Gymnasiums aus Bamberg auf die Hannover Messe! Die Schüler werden die Messe geführt erkunden und Technik zum Anfassen erleben. Leider hat die Messegesellschaft das Tec2You-Programm kurzfristig abgesagt, aber mit Hilfe des Verbandes ZVEI und der Nachwuchsinitiative "My eFuture" konnte kurzfristig ein Alternativprogramm organisiert werden.

lesen Sie mehr...